MMM 2015, Day 16: Liola Patterns’ Luna top, in muslin and adapted for knits

Me-Made-May, day 16! 

Saturdays during Me-Made-May are wild-card days, I get to sew whatever I want! This is the second Luna top I’ve made, the first one was a muslin made as part of pattern testing for Liola Patterns. For the second version, I decided to adapt it for knits, as I wanted to have something cozy to thrown on for walking puppy in cooler weather. I love love love love love it! The colour, the drape, the fit, I love all of it:

FullSizeRender-59  FullSizeRender-58

Here’s the muslin made as part of the pattern testing:

IMG_0405 IMG_0407 IMG_0404

Wearable, but with flaws. The sleeves were a bit too snug, and I didn’t account for my massive swayback (see pooling above my butt), both issues were fixed for the knit version. Read on…

Pattern & Instructions

The Luna is available as a PDF download, 24 pages to print. The instructions are fantastic, and there are enough illustrations to guide you through the process. In short, you’re piecing together contrasting panels on the front, and then on the back:

IMG_0379

Afterwards, sew front to back, add sleeves, and hem bottom. Yep, looks complicated, but if you follow the instructions it’s pretty straight-forward.

Garment Alterations:

Swayback was my biggest issue, there was way too much fabric pooling into my lower back. Luckily, the inserts at the back of the top are up high enough that taking out some of the length in this area doesn’t mess with the overall contracting fabrics design. I pinned out the extra fabric, measured it, and cut it out of the pattern piece:

IMG_0671  IMG_0673  IMG_0679IMG_0680

As for using knits, mine was a medium weight, so I adjusted as with yesterday’s top. Add to armscye, take in at shoulder and side seams.

Final Thoughts

I’d make this again for sure, maybe even give it a go in a heavier ponte for winter time 🙂

Leave a Reply

