Arm knitting!

Click here for great link on arm knitting!

I hooked up with friends at a favourite coffee haunt this past Saturday, we tried our hand at arm knitting. My yarn was a bit too thin, so my attempt failed miserably. Determined to make a double-wrap cowl happen, I picked up Patons Cobbles yarn – a really thick yarn, 2 skeins will do a cowl. I cast on 12 stitches, and got to work…beautiful, but way too wide. It literally engulfed my entire face when I wrapped it around my neck, so I unravelled it and started again…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I tried again with 8 stitches, still too wide for a double-wrap cowl! I ended up casting on only 4 stitches, but the yarn is so thick, it works just fine! I still had 2 balls of yarn left, so I arm-knit a short scarf casting on 6 stitches, sewed on a button to one side, slide it through one of the stitches like a buttonhole, and voila!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA    OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

And here’s me playing with kittie, which inevitably led to covering him in bits of leftover yarn…he pretends to hate it, but gets pissed if you don’t give him more attention…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

One thought on “Arm knitting!

  1. Love!! I want to make a blanket with this yarn and I love the stitch pattern you used! Do you know what it is called?? Or have a video that uses the same stitch technique ?

    Thanks!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

