Simplicity 1916: wrap top in purple knit fabric

(reposted from previous blog, published June 17, 2012)

    

After 3 months of no time for sewing, thanks to a long daily commute that has now come to an end, I finally got around to finishing this little number – a simple knit top. It’s a great wardrobe-builder, simple but elegant styling and would look great with either casual jeans or a more business-like black skirt. I can’t wait to try the other variations.

     

Here are the technical drawings. I made version “A’ but cut out the sleeves short. I figured it would work better for both summer and under a little sweater or suit jacket for winter that way. I didn’t bother making a muslin this time as a test run, I find patterns for knit tops usually work out just fine. The fabric is a lovely purple knit, just the right medium weight and super-soft, something I picked up while on a trip to Germany.

I didn’t make any structural modifications to the version I’ve posted here, but I did have to fix up the neckline by sewing the front pieces that crossover together. Otherwise, it was rather low-cut and the “ladies” were fully exposed. I almost ALWAYS have this problem with cross-over tops, stuffing DD-size boobs into this style without looking like a snarky tart can be tricky. Next time I’ll modify the front pieces like this to provide a little more cover:

My comments posted on patternreview.com

Link to my post on burdastyle.

Leave a Reply

