Butterick B5495: top with gathered front and raglan sleeves

me-made-March day 3!

Another top in knit fabric? Yeppers, I’m home today, not feeling well, and wrapped up in a comfy top is exactly what I want. I made this one a few months ago, when I first started working more with knits. It’s fairly easy to put together, the back has a centre seam and the front has a bit of work, but look – no sleeves to set in! The raglan sleeves are simply part of the front pattern piece, so it’s a good pattern for someone wanting to try something a little more complex but without having to tackle sleeves.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA   OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I didn’t stray from the pattern instructions, it was fairly simple to put together and the instructions were clear. I do caution about the low V-neckline, if I make this again I’ll raise it a bit. I’m fairly chesty and a deep neckline means I probably wouldn’t wear this to work, or would at least have to layer a tank top underneath it. I’ll probably also do a full bust adjustment (FBA) next time – the shirt is the right size overall, but it pulls forward a bit to allow the loop holding the gathers to sit under my bust. Did you know most pattern companies use a standard “B-cup” as the basis for patterns, no matter the size you’re cutting out from the pattern? So, if you’re larger than a B-cup, in order to get enough fullness in the chest area you should do a full bust adjustment to create the extra cup space needed. I’ll post a tutorial at some point, it’s possibly one of the most valuable adjustments for the curvy lady to learn.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA       purple top

Select Butterick, McCall’s and Kwik Sew patterns, including this one, are now available as an online PDF download. I don’t know how long that’s been going on, but it makes me smile, I’m all for the instant gratification of spotting something I want to make and assembling the pattern pieces without even leaving the house. What doesn’t make me smile is the price; $8.99. Really? I have to pay that much, and still print it at home, assemble the sheets and cut it out? The price is higher than other larger online pattern retailers. If that’s worth it to you, go for it, otherwise wait until the brand goes on sale at your local fabric store…

Posted on Burda

Leave a Reply

